+33 (0) 251490217 & +33 (0) 666176736 Au Passage du Gois, Le Menitres, Beauvoir-Sur-Mer, France info@aupassagedugois.fr

NOIRMOUTIER (5 KM AT LOW TIDE)

The island of Noirmoutier

Noirmoutier is a splendid visitor friendly island which lies off the coast at Beauvoir-sur-Mer, on the other side of the Passage du Gois. However, this passage is only open with low tide so in 1971, a bridge was built at Fromentine, so that it is now also possible at high tide to reach the island by car.

RESERVATIONS OR QUESTIONS ABOUT AVAILABILITY?

CLICK HERE

Photo gallery: (click on the photos to enlarge or see all photos)

The history of the island of Noirmoutier

The island Noirmoutier has a rich history of wars and occupants. In the 9th century the Vikings and Normans tried to conquer the island. The English have conquered the island three times in the 14th century. The Spaniards ruled the island in the 16th century. In the 17th century the Dutch admiral Tromp has also conquered the island. As from the 14th centuries, the island developed into a smugglers paradise. In the 17th century the island lived almost complete on smuggling tobacco from the new world.

What to discover on the island of Noirmoutier

The island lives nowadays mainly on tourism, with its splendid hiking tours, and its beautiful beaches and tourist attractions (sea aquarium, butterfly garden and wild water aqua park). The famous Noirmoutier salt is harvested from the many salt pans on the island. The many blue and white house give the island a Greek atmosphere. The best place to see this is the town of “Noirmoutier-en-île”. In early spring the complete island is yellow of the mimosa and smells deliciously. This can sometimes be as early as February in an exceptionally mild winter. The island’s fertile reclaimed land produces the acclaimed “Pommes de Terre de Noirmoutier” (delicious new potatoes). With its splendid pine-forests and outer marshes to walk in and its summery lively ambiance in the small villages on the island, it is an island which is worth a visit in every season of the year.

RESERVATIONS OR QUESTIONS ABOUT AVAILABILITY?

CLICK HERE

Discover below our region with its many possibilities

THE VENDÉE

The situation of the Vendée with respect to the UK means that you can be with us within a day by boat and car. Discover the Vendée here.

PASSAGE DU GOIS

We live 800 meters from the Passage du Gois. A submersible road to the island of Noirmoutier, which can be used at low tide. Find out all about the magic Passage du Gois.

WALKING

The Vendee is a great department to hike. From our home in Beauvoir-sur-Mer and in our area we have set out various routes. Discover the hiking opportunities in our region.

GOLF

With three golf courses within a radius of 35 km and another 7 golf courses within a radius of 60 km, the opportunities to play golf in our area are large. Discover the courses.

PORNIC

The lovely harbour town Pornic is in Breton style and at only 30 km from us. Read more

NANTES

The cosy and truly beautiful historic city of Nantes is an hour away from us. Learn more about Nantes.

BEACHES

We have made an overview of the most beautiful beaches in our area. Read more

NATURE

DIn the Vendée approximately 2,500 hectares of nature have been opened for the public to walk and to cycle. Read more

+33 (0) 251490217 & +33 (0) 666176736 Au Passage du Gois, Le Menitres, Beauvoir-Sur-Mer, France info@aupassagedugois.fr

L'ÎLE DE NOIRMOUTIER (5 KM À MARÉE BASSE)

L’île de Noirmoutier

L’île de Noirmoutier est très intéressante à visiter. On peut y accéder par Le Passage du Gois (chaussée submersible de 4 km). Le passage est ouvert deux fois par jour selon les marées. Depuis 1971 on peut aussi passer par un pont qui facilite grandement le trafic routier entre l’île de Noirmoutier et le continent.

RÉSERVER OU QUESTIONS SUR NOTRE DISPONIBILITÉ?

CLIQUEZ ICI

Galerie de photos: (cliquez sur les photos pour agrandir ou voir toutes les photos)

L’histoire de L’Île de Noirmoutier

L’île de Noirmoutier a une passé historique très riche. Maintes fois envahie (les Vikings et les Normands au 9eme siècle, les anglais 3 siècles plus tard, puis les hollandais avec l’Amiral Tromp au 17eme). Elle fut aussi concernée par les guerres de Vendée. Au 14ème siècle l’île devenait le paradis des contrebandes. Au 17ème siècle, l’île de Noirmoutier vivait presque entièrement grâce à la contrebande du tabac provenant du Nouveau Monde.

A découvrir sur l’île de Noirmoutier

Actuellement l’île de Noirmoutier est une destination touristique privilégiée avec ses merveilleuses plages, ses nombreuses attractions (aquarium, jardin aux papillons, parc aquatique etc), ses sentiers de randonnées qui vous feront découvrir (entre autre) la récolte du sel grâce aux dans les nombreux marais salants aujourd’hui réhabilités. Les maisons sont presque toujours blanches avec des volets bleus. Elles donnent parfois à l’île comme une atmosphère grecque. Dès février quand l’hiver est doux le mimosa y fleurit à foison. L´île de Noirmoutier est aussi connue pour la production de ses célèbres pommes de terre nouvelles. En été l’île de Noirmoutier est un lieu de vacances des plus prisés, mais elle reste très attractive toute l’année.

RÉSERVER OU QUESTIONS SUR NOTRE DISPONIBILITÉ?

CLIQUEZ ICI

Découvrez ci-dessous notre région avec ses nombreuses possibilités

LA VENDÉE

La Vendée est surtout connue pour son sable fin, pour son micro climat, ses plages ensoleillées et son bocage. Découvrez la Vendée ici.

PASSAGE DU GOIS

Nous vivons à 800 mètres du Passage du Gois. Une route submersible à l’île de Noirmoutier, qui peut être utilisée que à marée basse. Découvrez tout sur le magique Passage du Gois.

EN MARCHANT

La Vendée est un excellent département pour la randonnée. Depuis notre maison à Beauvoir-sur-Mer et dans notre région, nous avons mis en place divers itinéraires. Découvrez les possibilités de randonnées dans notre région.

ILE D'YEU

Découvrez l’île d’Yeu (l’île préférée du Roi de Belgique). La traversée est seulement une demi-heure. Découvrez Ile d’Yeu.

PORNIC

La belle ville et port de Pornic est plutôt « breton » et à seulement 30 km de nous. Lire la suite

NANTES

La belle ville historique Nantes est que à une heure de nous. En savoir plus de Nantes.

LES PLAGES

Nous avons fait un aperçu des plus belles plages de notre région. Lire la suite.

NATURE

La  Vendée offre 2,500 hectares de nature. C’est un paradis pour les randonneurs et les cyclistes. Lire la suite